Annonces

Mercredi 28 septembre 2022

Volunteer Canada is pleased to announce the appointment of three new members to our board of directors

Lindsey Alcy 

Lindsey Alcy is a third-year undergraduate student at Carleton University. She is currently pursuing a Bachelor in Global and International Studies, specializing in global law and social justice and a minor in sociology! She is passionate about youth and children, giving back to those in need suffering from homelessness in the greater Ottawa region and foreign affairs such as international development, human rights and diplomacy. In 2021, Lindsey was awarded the Volunteer Ottawa Outstanding Youth Volunteer award for her continuous commitment to others. 

Alex Medina

Alex Medina has over 25 years of diversified engineering, design, and management experience. During this time Alex has gained experience interfacing with diverse stakeholders including public relations, regulating bodies and Government. Alex has extensive experience in contract negotiations, corporate relations, and partnership management, as well as support of financing and investor relations. He forms part of the leadership team at Stantec with focus in Energy and Resources and is an innovation coach providing guidance and mentorship. Alex is Chapter Chair for the Latinos in Stantec employee resource group serving three major components: educational outreach, community involvement, and professional networking and has founded his own nonprofit organization promoting empowerment and selflove, The Medina Family Foundation focusing on advocacy, education, and assistance. 

Gina Jordan

Gina Jordan has nearly 30 years of public affairs experience in diverse sectors, including energy, telecommunications, healthcare and the nonprofit sector. She recently served as the Co-Chair of Volunteer Canada’s Corporate Community Engagement Council and has experience leading both corporate and non-profit volunteer programs as well as managing a large volunteer centre. Gina is currently the Manager, Sustainability and ESG Policy at Enbridge, where she leads the development of sustainability strategies and reporting in support of the company’s transition to a more sustainable, reliable and affordable energy future. 

“Lindsey, Alex and Gina bring tremendous knowledge, networks and skills as new members of the board of Volunteer Canada.  Their leadership and expertise come at such an exciting time for the organization as we look forward to the ways that volunteerism can support Canada as it rebuilds from the pandemic,” said Dr. Megan Conway, President and CEO, Volunteer Canada.  

The Volunteer Canada board of directors is responsible for setting Volunteer Canada's strategic direction. The board represents a pan-Canadian perspective on volunteering and civic participation. Collectively they bring a breadth of experience and wisdom that is crucial to the development of sound organizational policies and maintenance of good governance.

Please join us in welcoming these three fantastic new additions to our board.

Learn more about our board members.


Jeudi 15 septembre 2022

Bénévoles Canada annonce deux nouvelles nominations

Renata Rusiniak, directrice intérimaire, Engagement social des entreprises  

Bénévoles Canada est heureux d’accueillir Renata Rusiniak à titre de directrice intérimaire, Engagement social des entreprises, avec entrée en vigueur immédiate. Dans le cadre de ses fonctions, Renata aidera les entreprises avec leurs programmes d’engagement communautaire des employés ou des intervenants; convoquera le Conseil sur l’engagement communautaire des entreprises; et dirigera les consultations avec les entreprises. « Le leadership de Renata, sa connaissance du monde des affaires et son engagement envers l’innovation constituent des atouts pour Bénévoles Canada, surtout à ce stade-ci », affirme Megan Conway, présidente et chef de la direction de Bénévoles Canada.

« J’ai hâte de soutenir les programmes d’engagement social des entreprises de Bénévoles Canada au cours des prochains mois.  Les entreprises axées sur les objectifs contribuent grandement à faire avancer la mission de Bénévoles Canada.  Grâce aux efforts du Conseil sur l’engagement communautaire des entreprises, Bénévoles Canada peut atteindre son objectif d’améliorer la participation, la qualité et la diversité des expériences bénévoles à l’échelle du Canada.  Les temps sont durs pour les organismes sans but lucratif qui dépendent de bénévoles pour réaliser leur mission. Toutefois, tout défi s’accompagne d’une occasion. Je suis persuadée que Bénévoles Canada est bien placé pour relever ce défi », soutient Renata.

Renata conçoit des marques d’employeur. Elle est animée par le désir de favoriser des cultures d’entreprise rapprochées et de développer des employés ultra-engagés. S’appuyant sur sa vaste expérience en ressources humaines, en marketing, en communications et avec les enjeux gouvernementaux, sociaux et environnementaux (ESG), Renata possède ce qu’il faut pour engager les publics au moyen d’histoires authentiques qui traitent de gens, de programmes et d’incidence sociale. Au Canada, en Australie et en Nouvelle-Zélande, elle a travaillé dans différents secteurs commerciaux, notamment ceux de la cybersécurité (eSentire), des finances (Manuvie), des appareils technologiques (BlackBerry et L3-Wescam) et de l’alimentation (Cadbury-Schweppes). Ses 20 années d’expérience en entreprise l’ont menée à l’étape suivante de sa carrière, soit directrice et fondatrice de Green Horseshoe Solutions, une firme qui permet aux entreprises de renforcer leur marque d’employeur en dynamisant leurs programmes d’engagement, en concluant des partenariats communautaires, en adoptant des pratiques d’ESG et en communiquant des résultats qui comptent. Elle détient un baccalauréat spécialisé de l’université de Waterloo et un certificat en engagement communautaire du Boston College Centre for Corporate Citizenship. Elle est accréditée en tant que praticienne de la responsabilité sociale des entreprises. Selon elle, tout investissement dans les gens et la planète ouvre la voie aux profits.

Originaire de Hamilton et installée à Guelph avec son mari et leurs deux fils, Renata est très active au sein de sa collectivité. Elle siège actuellement au conseil d’administration du Donkey Sanctuary of Canada; fait partie du comité stratégique de la Guelph Community Foundation; et encadre diverses entreprises sociales chez Innovation Guelph. Auparavant, elle a siégé au conseil d’administration de Leadership Waterloo et de la chambre de commerce de la grande région de Kitchener-Waterloo (notamment pendant deux mandats à titre de présidente); agi à titre de mentor auprès des dirigeants de l’organisme Women in Communication and Technology (WCT); siégé au conseil des anciens étudiants de l’université de Waterloo; et fait du bénévolat pour Equine Guelph. Renata est une passionnée du ski, de l’équitation et du plein air.
 


Shaminda Perera, chef, Savoir, pratique et apprentissage 

Bénévoles Canada est fier d’annoncer que Shaminda Perera, MEd. pourvoira le poste de chef, Savoir, pratique et apprentissage à compter du lundi 26 septembre 2022. 

« Nous sommes très heureux que Shaminda ait accepté de diriger le développement d’un nouveau programme d’apprentissage à l’intention des principaux intervenants de Bénévoles Canada », a affirmé Megan Conway, présidente et chef de la direction de l’organisme. « Ses travaux permettront notamment de relever d’importantes questions qui nous aideront à renforcer l’infrastructure bénévole au cours des prochaines années. »  Shaminda jouera également un rôle de premier plan dans le cadre de notre initiative d’engagement axée sur les données afin d’accroître la sensibilisation, de comprendre les données sur les dons et le bénévolat à l’échelle du pays, et d’améliorer l’accès à celles-ci.

Shaminda adore aider les autres à apprendre et à se perfectionner. Ce penseur créatif et stratégique compte plus de deux décennies d’expérience dans le domaine du rendement et de l’apprentissage.   Depuis 2012, il dirige des initiatives d’apprentissage pour divers organismes sans but lucratif et groupes communautaires afin de les aider à adopter des pratiques exemplaires d’engagement bénévole. Il se spécialise dans l’élaboration de stratégies liées aux cadres de compétence, à la gestion du savoir, à l’apprentissage novateur, à la supervision des communautés de pratique et à la gestion des bénévoles. Il occupe des postes supérieurs de leadership depuis 2008. 

Shaminda se joint à Bénévoles Canada après un passage chez Volunteer MBC, le centre d’action bénévole qui dessert les villes de Mississauga, Brampton et Celadon, en Ontario. Au cours de son emploi chez Volunteer MBC, il a largement contribué à la mise en œuvre de nombreuses initiatives phares liées au savoir, à la pratique et à l’apprentissage dans le but de mettre sur pied le portail d’apprentissage du centre et de faire évoluer ses services d’apprentissage. Après plus de dix ans de service, il a mis fin à son mandat de gestionnaire, Apprentissage et développement des ressources. Shaminda détient une maîtrise en éducation des adultes de l’université de Yorkville, au Nouveau-Brunswick. Sa thèse traitait de la fondation d’organismes d’apprentissage dans le secteur de l’incidence sociale.

Bien connu de Bénévoles Canada, il contribue à notre mission depuis 2012. Cette même année, il a mis sur pied un programme national de formation des formateurs sur le filtrage au nom du Réseau de centres d’action bénévole de l’Ontario (OVCN), notre partenaire provincial pour ce projet. Il a également rédigé un module sur l’orientation et la formation pour notre cours en ligne portant sur le CCB (édition de 2017); créé notre portail d’apprentissage; et conçu notre cours en ligne portant sur la diversité, l’équité et l’inclusion.

« Je suis ravi que Bénévoles Canada m’ait donné l’occasion de servir le secteur de l’incidence sociale sur une plateforme nationale. En tant que praticien actif de ce secteur, j’ai toujours admiré les efforts et les initiatives de Bénévoles Canada visant à en faire la voix du bénévolat au pays. Plus que jamais, le travail de cet organisme est essentiel dans ce monde qui a bien changé. Pendant la pandémie de COVID-19, les centres d’action bénévole, les organismes à but social, les défenseurs du secteur et les bénévoles se sont montrés à la hauteur du défi. Le secteur continue d’évoluer rapidement et d’importants travaux s’imposent. Je suis conscient du fait que les intervenants et les collègues avec qui je collaborerai se fieront à moi pour que nous mettions en lumière les valeurs et les avantages du bénévolat. Je m’engage donc à faire de mon mieux. J’ai très hâte de mettre à profit le privilège de mon éducation, mon savoir-faire et les occasions qui m’ont été accordées par ma collectivité en vue de renforcer l’infrastructure bénévole au Canada. »

Ses engagements bénévoles et philanthropiques actuels se font par l’entremise de Lions Club International. Il est membre d’un Lions Club depuis 2015 et occupe actuellement le poste de président de son club local, soit le Lions Club de Mississauga Cooksville. Sur la scène philanthropique, Shaminda et son fils Kristyen (14 ans) sont les coparrains du prix Youth Lead by Example remis chaque année par Volunteer MBC à un jeune bénévole exemplaire ou à un groupe de jeunes bénévoles exemplaires de la région de Peel. 

Shaminda s’est installé au Canada en 2010 et habite à Mississauga avec Kristyen. Ses passe-temps sont plutôt créatifs. Il s’intéresse tout particulièrement à la maroquinerie, aux jeux de rôle et à l’art abstrait.

Bienvenue Shaminda et Renata!

Announcements

Thursday, September 15, 2022

Volunteer Canada announces two new appointments

Renata Rusiniak, Acting Director, Corporate Citizenship 

Volunteer Canada is pleased to welcome Renata Rusiniak as Acting Director, Corporate Citizenship starting immediately. In her role, Renata will be the organizational lead on supporting companies in their employee/stakeholder community engagement programs, convene the Corporate Community Engagement Council, and lead the consulting practice for businesses.  “Renata’s leadership, her knowledge of the corporate landscape and her commitment to innovation will be an asset to Volunteer Canada, especially during this moment in time,” said Megan Conway, President and CEO of Volunteer Canada.  

“I look forward to supporting Volunteer Canada’s Corporate Citizenship programs over the next few months.  Purpose-driven corporations play an important part in advancing the mission of Volunteer Canada.  Through the efforts of the Corporate Community Engagement Council, Volunteer Canada can achieve its goals to increase participation, quality, and diversity of volunteer experiences across Canada.  It’s a challenging time for non-profits who rely on volunteers to fulfill their missions but with challenge comes opportunity and I’m confident that Volunteer Canada is well positioned to take on this challenge,” said Renata.

Renata is an employer brand builder fueled by a desire to foster connected corporate cultures and extra-engaged employees. With a blended background in human resources, marketing, communications, and environmental social governance, Renata is well-positioned to engage audiences with authentic storytelling about people, programs, and social impact. She has worked across multiple business sectors including cybersecurity (eSentire), finance (Manulife), technology devices (BlackBerry and L3-Wescam), and food (Cadbury-Schweppes) within Canada, Australia, and New Zealand. Her 20 years of corporate experience has led Renata to her next career chapter as the Director and Founder of Green Horseshoe Solutions – enabling companies to build their employer branding through revitalizing engagement programs, forging community partnerships, instituting ESG practices, and communicating impacts that matter. Renata holds an honours BA from the University of Waterloo and a Certificate of Community Involvement from Boston College Centre for Corporate Citizenship. She is a certified Corporate Social Responsibility Practitioner and believes that investing in people and the planet paves the way for profits. 

Originally from Hamilton and currently residing in Guelph with her husband and two sons, Renata is active in her local community. She currently serves on the Board of Directors for the Donkey Sanctuary of Canada, advises as part of the Strategy Committee for the Guelph Community Foundation, and mentors social enterprises at Innovation Guelph. Previously, Renata has served as a Board Director with the Greater Kitchener-Waterloo Chamber of Commerce (including 2 terms as Chair of the Board) and Leadership Waterloo, mentored with Women in Communication and Technology (WCT), served as a member of the University of Waterloo Alumni Council and volunteered her time in the equine community with Equine Guelph. Renata is an avid skier, equestrian, and general advocate of all things outdoorsy.


Shaminda Perera, Knowledge, Practice and Learning Lead 

Volunteer Canada is pleased to announce the hiring of Shaminda Perera, MEd. to the position of Knowledge, Practice and Learning Lead, beginning Monday, September 26, 2022. 

“We are excited for Shaminda to lead the development of a new learning agenda that will support Volunteer Canada’s key stakeholders,” shared President and CEO Megan Conway. “In particular, his work will help identify important questions that will help strengthen volunteer infrastructure in the years to come.”  Shaminda will also play a leading role in our data-driven engagement initiative — work that is meant to raise awareness, understanding and access to data on giving and volunteering across the country.  

Shaminda’s passion is to help others learn and grow, and he is a creative and strategic thinker. With over 2 decades of experience in the field, Shaminda is an expert in Performance and Learning. Since 2012, he has been leading learning initiatives to support not-for-profit organizations and community groups to apply best practices in volunteer involvement. He specializes in strategizing system-wide competency frameworks, knowledge management, innovating learning, leading communities of practice, and volunteer management. He has been serving in senior leadership capacities since 2008. 

He transitions to Volunteer Canada from Volunteer MBC, the Volunteer Centre serving the cities of Mississauga, Brampton, and the town of Caledon, in Ontario. While at Volunteer MBC, he has been instrumental in implementing numerous signature knowledge, practice and learning initiatives, building the centre’s learning portal, and innovating Volunteer MBC’s learning services. After over a decade of service, he ends his term as the Manager of Learning and Resource Development. Shaminda holds a Master of Education in Adult Education degree from Yorkville University, New Brunswick. His thesis focused on building learning organizations in the social impact sector.

No stranger to Volunteer Canada, he has been contributing to our mission since 2012. He developed the national Screening Training train-the-trainer program in 2012 on behalf of our provincial project partner, the Ontario Volunteer Centre Network (OVCN), authored the chapter covering the standard ‘Orientation and Training’ in the CCVI (2017 ed.) online course, developed our learning portal, and developed the e-learning product of Volunteer Canada authored online course in Diversity, Equity and Inclusion. 

“I am thrilled about the opportunity Volunteer Canada has given me to serve the Social Impact Sector on a national platform. As an active practitioner in the sector, I have always admired Volunteer Canada’s efforts and initiatives to be the voice of volunteerism. The organization’s work is crucial now more than ever when we all experience a world that is quite different today. During the pandemic, we saw the Volunteer Centres, social purpose organizations, supporters, and volunteers rise to the challenging environment due to the COVID-19 pandemic. The sector continues to go through rapid change, and there is important work to be done. I am very aware that our stakeholders I will be working with, and my colleagues are relying on me to collectively push forward the values and benefits of volunteerism. I am committed to doing my best. I eagerly look forward to contributing with the privilege of my education, the opportunities my community has given me and the expertise I bring - to strengthen the volunteerism infrastructure in Canada,” says Shaminda.

His current volunteering and philanthropic engagements are through the Lions Club International. He is a Lion since 2015 and currently serves as the President of his home club - the Mississauga Cooksville Lions Club. Furthermore, on the philanthropic front, Shaminda and his son Kristyen (14) are the annual co-sponsors of Volunteer MBC’s ‘Youth Lead by Example’ award presented to an exemplary youth volunteer/group in Peel. 

He is a settler in Canada since 2010 and, with Kristyen, calls the city of Mississauga their home. Shaminda’s interests include creative activities, with considerable experience in leatherwork, tabletop role-playing games, and abstract art.

Welcome Shaminda and Renata!